area image Prefecture map 5

Dewa Sanzan Shrine

Prefecture map 5 Dewa Sanzan is the name used to refer to the three mountains Mount Haguro, Mount Gassan and Mount Yudono. It was at Dewa Sanzan that Shugendo (a religion that amalgamates the indigenous practice of mountain worship with Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, etc.) originated. Being a central place of worship for many Buddhist sects, Dewa Sanzan was also known as the “Mountains of the Many Buddhist Teachings” (Hashukengaku) in the Kamakura period.

Didn’t find what you are looking for?

You can customize all tours offered by guides on WOW U. However, if none of the available tours appeal to you, you can get in touch with us to find additional guides who can show you around this spot.

Request a guide!